Posted by: 99donuts | 08/07/2010

Cruise Control

Dream 3:  CRUISE CONTROL

My mother and I are driving somewhere separately – her in the purple van and me in Max. (Sidenote: Max is my car. I named him after a male stripper named Max Steele.) My mother and I need to discuss something, so we stop the cars and I put Max in cruise control. I close the door, send him ahead on his own, and get into Mom’s van. I keep my eye on Max warily as we discuss; he is holding up traffic in the fast lane as we follow a few cars behind in the slow lane.

Watching my car drive itself.

After some time has passed,  Max is too far ahead to see. We approach our destination, and I suddenly realize the road is going to turn up ahead, deviating from it’s thus-far-straight course. I quickly explain to my Mom what is going on, and then jump out of the car to run after Max. My mom speeds up the van and chases after Max, and she passes out of my range of sight as well.

Running after Max

I continue running. A few minutes later, I get to an intersection and notice several of my friends have shown up and are running with me. After crossing the intersection, we enter a suburban neighborhood and I notice a toddler-sized pink tricycle. I take it, but realize  before I even get on it that there is another pink bike several houses up, so I leave the tricycle for one of my friends and run for the larger pink bike.

Trading up my trike for a bike

I get on, but cannot remember how to use the handles or the pedals correctly, so I don’t move swiftly at first and am constantly on the verge of losing my balance. At the end of the road, a somewhat blurry looking Max is parked in a driveway, with my Mom standing next to him. I get off the bike and thank my mom while also saying goodbye.

Found them!

Max has slowly become even more ambiguous and is now a cloudy, open-air vehicle that is indistinct and vague. My friends get in and I attempt to return the bikes, but mistakenly return the toddler’s bike to the older girl’s lawn and decide instead to keep the larger bike for myself,  as I have now remembered how to ride properly. I ride the bike next to the cloudy car as we indistinctly drift down the road toward some new destination.

Sort of blurrily floating off into the distance


Responses

  1. […] Max: “My mother and I are driving somewhere separately – her in the purple van and me in Max. (Sidenote: Max is my car. I named him after a male stripper named Max Steele.)” -99donuts of 99donuts […]

  2. […] Max: “My mother and I are driving somewhere separately – her in the purple van and me in Max. (Sidenote: Max is my car. I named him after a male stripper named Max Steele.)” -99donuts of 99donuts […]


Leave a comment

Categories